Sustainability Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 7 p.m.
  • 3rd Thursday of each month
  • Village Hall
    850 Waukegan Road
    Deerfield, IL 60015


Consists of 9 members appointed to 3 year terms. Duties: Acts in an advisory capacity to the President and Board of Trustees, to the Village administration and to the Deerfield community to optimize the potential of the Village in environmentally sound practices with a view toward improving the local environment for the benefit of our citizens, businesses and neighbors. Individuals employed by corporations and businesses located in Deerfield ("corporate residents") are eligible to serve as voting members on the commission; however, no more than one-third (1/3) of the commission members shall be corporate residents at any one time. Walgreens is currently the only corporate resident appointed to the commission.

  • Donald Anderson, Chair
  • Maria Albulescu
  • Amy Call
  • Daniel Dorfman
  • Richard Heller
  • Karrah Krakovyak
  • Bill Mertes
  • Michael Shalen
  • Deborah Tomez


The Sustainability Commission is established to optimize Deerfield's potential in environmentally sound practices, thereby improving the quality of our local environment for the benefit of our citizens, businesses and neighbors with respect to sustainability, meaning the use of resources such that they do not become depleted or permanently damaged and requiring the balance of environmental, economic and social demands.

Agendas are posted on the Village's website at least 48 hours prior to each meeting.

The Sustainability Commission also created a "Green up Deerfield" section of the Village's website.